Snowmobile World banner

94 Vmax 600

11K views 13 replies 13 participants last post by  JedFalls 
#1 ·
Hi guys, I'm quite new to the sled world. In fact too, I speak french, so excuse me for mistreating your language. I'm from Quebec. Here is the thing. I want to buy a used sled, looking for something around I was looking for something aroud 1500 bucks CAN. I just saw that yamaha vmax 600 1994 for 900$ CAN. Sounds interesting, but I dont know anything in the snowmobile world.

What do you guys think about that deal? owner said me there is a new track on it. Can you give me some information about that sled?
What should I check for when going see it? In general, is that a good sled for going around, with a quite good performance for a newbi? How is the durability of this sled? What should be an acceptable milleage?

Thank you in advance.

#2 ·
I ran one before I switched to doo. Crank bearing went during second year and destroyed the bottom end, was still covered under warranty. Broke the driveshaft in third year. Sled was pretty good overall, the ride and handling are ok at best. It's no screaming hell out of the hole, I could never get it to hook up properly. I sold mine in 2000 for $3500. I think it would be a good starter sled.

#3 ·
A friend had 1 & according to another co-worker who had a 94 600 as well, you'll be lucky if you get 90 miles or 150 klicks per tank. Secondary bushing should be looked @ as well. My friend's were worn out after 1 season.

#4 ·
See if you can find a 1997 or newer. They have the trailing arm front suspension,much better than the pogo sticks on the 94. Sold a 97 last year with 8000miles for $800.00us. The sled never missed a beat. I never even pulled the clutches off the sled to clean or repair. Rocksolid and bulletproof. IMO

#5 ·