Brake Light... - Page 2 - Snowmobile World : Your #1 Snowmobile Forum
http://www.snowmobileworld.com/forums
» Sponsors
Go Back   Snowmobile World : Your #1 Snowmobile Forum > SNOWMOBILING SECTION > YAMAHA

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-06-2005, 08:09 PM   #11
akrievins
Senior Member
 
akrievins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
Mileage: 75 kms
Primary Sled: 2003 Yamaha SXViper
Where I sled: Rosseau + Parry Sound, Ontario.
Posts: 586
Send a message via MSN to akrievins
Default

Hey,
Took a quick look at it a few days ago. Hit it with some WD-40 and out it back in. The bulb was lit up once started, but got no change when the brake handle was squeezed. The light was very faint when lit. When I rev the engine it gets brighter, but that's the same with my headlight.

I guess I will try a new bulb before doing anything else.
__________________
When Hell freezes over... I'll snowmobile there too!
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
2003 Yamaha SX Viper. 700 Triple

http://i48.photobucket.com/albums/f2...gniturepic.jpg
akrievins is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-20-2005, 09:06 PM   #12
Lenny
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Mileage: 2500
Primary Sled: RX-1
Where I sled: Michigan UP & Canada
Posts: 13
Default

Check your wire connections. Is there a separate ground wire? Typically, when there is a dim lamp, it is a bad connection. If the tail light goes out when you apply the brakes, it is typically the Ground Wire that has the bad connection. That bad connection could also be in the switch or at the connector at the engine.
Lenny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2005, 10:52 PM   #13
akrievins
Senior Member
 
akrievins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
Mileage: 75 kms
Primary Sled: 2003 Yamaha SXViper
Where I sled: Rosseau + Parry Sound, Ontario.
Posts: 586
Send a message via MSN to akrievins
Default

Hey guys,
older post, but now my light stays lit but nothing happens when I squeeze the brake. Sounds like it might be the disc right?

__________________
When Hell freezes over... I'll snowmobile there too!
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
2003 Yamaha SX Viper. 700 Triple

http://i48.photobucket.com/albums/f2...gniturepic.jpg
akrievins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2005, 11:03 PM   #14
rvanderklok
Senior Member
 
rvanderklok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 663
Default

it's more than likely the brake switch. If you look at the base of your brake lever, you'll see where the lever turns the switch. Yamaha's were notorious for this. The other companies all use a little button type thing, where the base of the lever presses the button in. Much more reliable than Yamaha's setup.
rvanderklok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2005, 12:06 AM   #15
akrievins
Senior Member
 
akrievins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
Mileage: 75 kms
Primary Sled: 2003 Yamaha SXViper
Where I sled: Rosseau + Parry Sound, Ontario.
Posts: 586
Send a message via MSN to akrievins
Default

Quote:
it's more than likely the brake switch. If you look at the base of your brake lever, you'll see where the lever turns the switch. Yamaha's were notorious for this. The other companies all use a little button type thing, where the base of the lever presses the button in. Much more reliable than Yamaha's setup.
[/b]
I'll check it out next ride... but what would I need to do? Fix it or replace it?
__________________
When Hell freezes over... I'll snowmobile there too!
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
2003 Yamaha SX Viper. 700 Triple

http://i48.photobucket.com/albums/f2...gniturepic.jpg
akrievins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2005, 12:44 AM   #16
Yamahammer
Senior Member
 
Yamahammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Espanola, Ontario, Canada
Mileage: 780kms
Primary Sled: 2000 Venture 500 XL
Where I sled: Espanola, Killarney, Sudbury
Posts: 568
Default

Quote:
Much more reliable than Yamaha's setup.[/b]
Jeez, how often do you hear that one?....
__________________
http://i39.photobucket.com/albums/e1...d_editedCS.jpg
Tuning Forks Forever!

USI VX-301 skis
Studboy 9" Shaper Bars
136" Ripsaw Track
108 1.325" Woodys Stainless Steel Studs
Woodys Big Nuts
GYT-R hood Brackets
GYT-R Skidplate
NGK Iridium Sparkplugs
Amsoil Interceptor Oil
Fitch Fuel Catalysts
Shockpros Shock Covers
Powermadd 3" Riser Block
Powermadd Throttle Cable Extension
NTN blueseal Bearings
Medium Height Tint Windsheild
Custom Liscense Plate
Sportech Blue Lightsheild
Zenon Headlight Bulb
Yamahammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2005, 01:00 AM   #17
Boondock
Senior Member
 
Boondock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Gary @ Lewiston, Idaho
Primary Sled: 2003 Doo Summitt HighMark 800 HO 151 track
Where I sled: Umatilla National Forest, (Blue Mountains) Washington
Posts: 539
Default

Before you go and replace or tare apart the brake system switch...try by-passing the brake switch and see if it comes on...if it does then probabbly need to replace the switch or try spraying it with electrical contact cleaner first
__________________
SW users, Please consider a donation or / and becoming a supporting member!
Boondock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2005, 07:44 AM   #18
rvanderklok
Senior Member
 
rvanderklok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 663
Default

You may be able to take it apart and fix it. I believe the switch assembly on my SS was held together by a small nut and bolt up through the centre. When mine went on the blitz I just picked up another one......one of the joys of living 30 km away from one of the biggest sled salvage yards in the province.
rvanderklok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2005, 07:10 PM   #19
loggerhenry
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hartford, New York
Mileage: 67
Primary Sled: 1994 Arctic Cat ZR 580
Where I sled: Washington Co. NY
Posts: 3
Send a message via MSN to loggerhenry
Default

I had the same problem with my 90 Phazer II. I had power to the brake lever but noothing going to the brake light itself. I replaced the brake lever switch which cost me around $11.00. I picked it up at www.xtremepowersports.com.
loggerhenry is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:00 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.