2001 Polaris Supersport 550 Fan Cooled - Snowmobile World : Your #1 Snowmobile Forum
http://www.snowmobileworld.com/forums
» Sponsors
Go Back   Snowmobile World : Your #1 Snowmobile Forum > SNOWMOBILING SECTION > POLARIS

Old 04-04-2007, 11:38 AM   #1
ice fisherman

Hi All,
New member here.
I am considering purchassing my first snowmobile.
I found an ad for a 2001 POLARIS SUPERSPORT 550 fan cooled machine for sale that looks close to what I am looking for.

It is fan cooled, edge chassis, hand and thumb warmers, reverse, studded, 2400 miles, excellent condition. I'll be using it mostly for my ice fishing trips, but would like to be able to take my son with me. Maybe pulling a portable hut behind.

Since I am new to this subject I'd like to ask few questions. Hope the board experts can help me out.

Most importantly - Is this machine "two up" or not?
Is it good quality/brand name/reliable?
How does it compare to the 2001 Arctic Car Panther 440 (pull start, no reverse, two up, 2500 miles)
What does "edge chassis" and "studded" mean?
Is 2400 miles considered low miles for the year?
Machine is in Canada - what would be a fair/good deal on it?

Thank you and hope to become an active member here when I get my new toy ;-)

Cheers,
Ice Fisherman
ice fisherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-04-2007, 12:41 PM   #2
SKSBuddy

Mileage: 2000
Primary Sled: 2003 800 SKS
Where I sled: Maine

Quote:
Hi All,
New member here.
I found an ad for a 2001 POLARIS SUPERSPORT 550 fan cooled machine for sale that looks close to what I am looking for.

It is fan cooled, edge chassis, hand and thumb warmers, reverse, studded, 2400 miles, excellent condition. I'll be using it mostly for my ice fishing trips, but would like to be able to take my son with me. Maybe pulling a portable hut behind.

Since I am new to this subject I'd like to ask few questions. Hope the board experts can help me out.