What to look for. - Snowmobile World : Your #1 Snowmobile Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 12-01-2010, 05:46 PM Thread Starter

What to look for.

Hi all, I'm looking at buying a 98 ski-doo mxz 670.
Is there anything I should know about this sled that could be a problem like difficult maintenance or weak point's.
I'm new to sledding but not to powersports.
This sled would be used for trails in New England. Ive done a little research and it seems that it was pretty quick for the year but not very comfortable at lower speed's. How easy/expensive would it be to make the suspension more low speed friendly?

Thank's for your advise. Mike
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 12-03-2010, 03:08 AM
Coming 2 a Trail near You

Send a message via AIM to PowderBoy
I am not too familiar with ski-doos but i do know about suspension. the MXZ was the ditch banger of ski-doos line up that year. They were built for harder riders. At low speeds in rough terrain most "sno-Pro" style machines will kinda throw you around a bit since the suspension isnt getting a "proper" workout. My 660 St is a very stiff and when your cruising down a bumpy trail it will ride better at higher speeds.

the fix for this is not really cheap, you can start by turning the spring adjustments to there lowest setting, this will give you a little more play at slow speeds in bumps, If that doesnt correct the problem changing the springs first and the shock secondary would be an option as well but your probably looking at about $200+ and changing springs (for the most part) is not picnic. If you know someone who has done it then invite them over for a beer cause anyone who has done it a few times knows the tricks to getting them in.