Snowmobile World banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Looking to buy a used sled & have an opportunity to pick up a 2000 500xcsp through a private sale.  Its the 45th anniversary pkg w/ studs, a boost bottle, and an upgraded clutch.  Mileage reads 1750.  Its looks like its been very well taken care of, inside and out with no damage whatsoever.  But, I am relatively new to the sport, been riding the last 3 years on a 96 Indy Trail.  Rode a friend's XC last year and loved it.  Been looking used ever since for a good clean sled.  There hasn't been much out there locally.  My questions are:
1.  If I can't buy new, is this sled a good sled, any known problems?  2.  The clutch kit.  He said he change it to get better response.  I'm not familiar with this it all.  He is wiling to put the old one back in.  Not sure what do.  Any ideas is appreciated.  3.  Price.  Looked it up and his asking price is a couple hundred over average retail of nada's $3800.  What is a good offer or sale price?  Any other input/info is appreciated. Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
355 Posts
ive got a 99 indy5xcsp...its been an awesome sled...i love it. i just put a boost bottle on mine this past yr. and found that it gave it better throttle repsonse...i never had a problem with it...with the 45th version i know u got variable exhaust on it so that'll give it a litle more pep...if you wanted to, you could prolly ask him, what dealer he uses, then you could call the dealer and ask if he has heard of him, and if he's got any info. on the sled.. it sounds like a good deal from what youve said...try and bargin with him...if you go over w/ like 3500/3600 cash, i bet he'd sell it to you..just my .2c-INDY

·
Registered
468 Posts