Snowmobile World banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This past winter, I picked up a 1986 El Tigre 6000 and a 1985 Cougar in excellent condition.

The only problem is the speedo on the El Tigre does not work. The Cougar tops out around 55 mph, but the El Tigre seems to go quite a bit faster (70 or 75???).

I'm not an expert snowmobiler or mechanic by any means (luckily, I have a retired neighbor that loves to tinker on things if I have any problems).

So, does anybody know what the top speeds should be for these sleds?

·
Registered
2,422 Posts
I have an 1989 EXT Eltigr'e 530. I have had it up 85 mph. But if your speedometer doesn't work It's either the cable snapped inside, or your bearing. I would have it fixed before you run it. If there is a piece broken off inside where the cable goes in. That might do some damage to the inner parts.

·
Premium Member
536 Posts
I have an '87 El Tigre 6000 that has been modified for racing by the previous owner. He added aftermarket twin tuned pipes, bigger carbs, clutch work and who knows what else. If I can believe the speedometer across the lake it can tickle 100 with the right conditions (good snowpack, right air temp / jets combo, good tailwind, etc).

It needs a little tlc now but with some luck I hope to get it ready for this fall's radar run. I always meant to get it there but never managed to...

My speedo went out several times - there is a little keeper pin (or connector? - can't remember, it has been too long) where the cable goes in down by the drive shaft. I kept snapping these things until I replaced the whole assmebly by the drive shaft. That fixed the problem for good. If the gears on the lower end bind even a little it snaps the connector to protect the speedometer cable.

dave

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4