Snowmobile World banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Guys,

This is my first sled, I have little to no experience. Only driven one for a couple hours had some good fun including some drifting on ice in a field which led to a roll over :rolleyes: But still good times.

On the weekend I bought a sled from a friend of mine which he had sitting for 2 years because the recoil cable broke and he never got around to fixing it. So I decided I would buy it and it really isnt in that bad of shape I got it pretty cheap, it does need a few things but nothing to big that I can tell. First thing I did was replace the gas cap because there was a crack in it, so now I want to clean the gas tank before I put gas in it. Anyone know a easy way of doing that? I then took the exhaust system off to get to the recoil starter and got the cord to come through and mounted it on the handle, I am worried about the length of cord as its about 6-8 feet. Is that long enough or am going to have to take the whole recoil apart? The handle will reach to the end of the sled. The second issue is that it takes about 2 feet for the cord to catch before I can pull it is that ok? Another concern is the oil, its been sitten in the tank for about 2 years I have been told as long as its not used then its fine which I agree but I am concerned about moister contaminating the oil, anyone else I agree I change it? If so is there a hose I can just disconnect to drain it? Also there is a primer located just above the pull handle, is that to pump oil/gas into the cyclinder prior to starting? How and when would I use the primer? Is it like a choke? To give you guys a idea on the condition of the sled, there is not one hose that needs to be replaced. No cracks on gaskets, even the belt looks good and it also has a brand new belt on the holder. Which I have been told they should be removed from the sled when in storage to prevent warping. True?