Snowmobile World banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK........bottom line my machine is hard to start (like 15 pulls) and it's getting 4 - 5 mpg

the stuff I did (below) maybe helped a tiny bit but last short day out my 500 RMK used 5.5 gallons, my sons 700 RMK used 3

Seems to run "ok" once it's going but maybe a little rough (I'm new at this whole snowmachine thing)

Somebody said......."rebuild your fuel pump"....... I did......

"look for a fuel leak"............NOPE

Somebody else said "check your jets and your needle".......I did......unfortunately they were the right ones/setting

"Clean your carb"......did that as best I could.....I couldn't get the "funnel" off to clean that part.....screws are siezed up

a SM mechanic who came highly recommended told me he didn't have time to work on my sled right now but he said 90% of the time it's the floats........the other 10% of the time it's the choke

the floats SEEMED ok to me but he told be they can look fine and still be bad.....

$150 later I have a new set of floats to install.........

How do I clean/adjust/check the choke?

This is a Mikuni TM38 carb..........the choke cable turns a rod that lifts plungers on both carbs but you can't get at the "guts".......(maybe I could if I could get the funnel off)

The choke lever seems to have "slack" when it's "off" like it should........and it lifts the plungers when it's "choked"...........when the engine is warm it chokes out when you flip the choke "on"

anybody have any recommendations besides putting on the new floats?? (hopefully that's not a waste)

oh yeah........ my plugs go from "new" to BLACK in 15 miles........one plug is a little less black than the other but they're BLACK

on a positive note I am learning a good bit about my machine........and aside from getting crappy mileage it's fun!!

·
Registered
1,085 Posts