Snowmobile World banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My 04 ZR 900 Had the recalled shaft replaced by the dealer, and now I am about to install the third "updated" drive shaft at my own expense. The sled has only 3300 miles on it,has anyone else had this problem this frequently? I am a mechanic and do all my own work,is there a better way?
A better quality aftermarket shaft assembly?

Thanks for any help.

·
Registered
177 Posts
well... yes they had a problem with the drive shafts... Have you done any engine mods to give it more than the 150 hp?

how tight are you making the track... my concern is that you are too lose, and the track it ratcheting and starting to kick back and that could cause a problem...

when you tighten a track you should BARELY be able to slide two fingers on top of each other between the track itself and the rail when you pull it down with the other hand.

Speedwerx sells a drive shaft but I am pretty sure you have to buy the diamond LITE drive system to get it, which goes for around 600$ + shaft = 200-300 with drive wheels

·
Registered
185 Posts
My King was shortend at the dealer at the time of purchased to a 136 by the previous owner, it is at 190hp now at elev. Still has the stock titainium shaft and had no problems what so ever and I dont cut it any slack out in the powder and being a short tracked 900 all my buddies want to race it (they never learn..lol) point being you might want to try the titainium shaft off the King.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
well... yes they had a problem with the drive shafts... Have you done any engine mods to give it more than the 150 hp?

how tight are you making the track... my concern is that you are too lose, and the track it ratcheting and starting to kick back and that could cause a problem...