Snowmobile World banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just bought my first sled ever and hope to get it out this weekend, but I have a small problem. First, I've never worked on one of these before and I searched back to 2004 without finding anything directly related to my problem.
The sled fires up great and apperently has power(only ridden it up my driveway so far) but I can't get the head/tail lights to come on or the speedo/tach to work. I don't even know where to start looking. Is there a fuse somewhere? I checked for loose connections and everything seems fine, but I've probably missed something.
Any help would be great!
Thanks

·
Registered
4 Posts
i had that same sled and had that problem. it was some chafed wire insulation for hand warmers where it is fed thru a wire loop on the steering colum just under the console. it would ground out and cause this prob. so i would check there first.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
i had that same sled and had that problem. it was some chafed wire insulation for hand warmers where it is fed thru a wire loop on the steering colum just under the console. it would ground out and cause this prob. so i would check there first.[/b]

Thanks Levi, I'll have a look tomorrow. I looked a little today and did find a random ground wire unhooked under the handlebar cover. Looked like a ground strap if that makes sense. didn't seem to be touching anything else though.

I also found 2 loose spade connectors on the valve cover. I'll be replacing those tomorrow, but I couldn't see that being the problem

·
Registered
4 Posts
the problem i had was a power wire grounded causing a short in the system therefore the lights and tach would cut out, but the speedo is mechanical so if it doesnt work there may be another issue

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #5