Snowmobile World banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Been reading this forum for a while , I have to say this place is great !!
One subject I haven't seen is on boots and clothing. I am new to this sport and been riding around the house in carharts and sorel boots (not good).
I'm looking at boots right now ,what temp rating do you want ? How high and what brand? I can order Lacross at work.
I have a trip to the U.P. coming up and want to be warm !!!

·
Registered
326 Posts
I don't think there is a too warm when you are on a sled. Your feet are probably the hardest to keep warm of everything.

·
Registered
483 Posts
I wear Rockys, rated to -100F, but I don't know of anyone who has been in temps that cold to test them :D ...I would recommend the Rockys...have a removable liner, gore-tex in them, lightweight and comfortable. If not the Rockys, the LaCrosse (Ice Kings I think) look like a very similar boot.

·
Registered
530 Posts
Originally posted by zrgreen@Dec 3 2002, 08:42 PM
I wear Rockys, rated to -100F, but I don't know of anyone who has been in temps that cold to test them :D ...I would recommend the Rockys...have a removable liner, gore-tex in them, lightweight and comfortable. If not the Rockys, the LaCrosse (Ice Kings I think) look like a very similar boot.
Another notch for Rocky's. They are the best boot you can buy. They're waterproof and are very warm. They are well worth the initial cost.

·
Registered
799 Posts
Believe it or not, there is such a thing as a too-warm boot! My partner's 15yo son gets such hot feet (he's a really hot-blooded kid!) that when we stop for a break his socks are soaked! If that is your case, make sure you get boots with removeable liners. You don't want to go out with wet boots in the morning.

Jacqui.

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #6