Snowmobile World banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi all
i hope you are able to help
i currently race a car in england which is fitted with the rotax 593 twin which i believe is from a 2000 model skidoo. http://norasport.com/news/superlites.php

my problem is with the primary clutch,it is currently fitted with a comet clutch but this seems prone to failure,so i am looking at fitting a TRA clutch which are apparently much more reliable,

i have found some clutches on ebay,which are listed as fitting 600 ,700 and 800 do i have to be carefull or are all the shaft sizes the same.?

i know to get the max from the engine the clutch has to be spot on , so can you reccomend a set up, i feel this may be difficult as it has probably completely different characteristics to a snow mobile, it starts to drive just after tickover then revs all the way to top speed which is around 120mph but the secondry runs through a gear box?

i am a noob at clutch tuning but have been reading various forums and am starting to get the idea,but asking the profesionals has got to be the way forward

many thanks johno

·
Registered
603 Posts
Hello, that 593 twin is what some call "old school 600". The model you have is still made by BRP and comes in skidoo models 500SS.I don't know what secondary clutch you are running, if you are running a 2002 or older secondary then that is the TRA-2 platform and has 1-3/8 belt width.

The 2003~newer primary are TRA-3 clutches and are 1.5" belt width.
You can make a TRA-2 secondary clutch work with a TRA3 primary clutch, as long as you take apart your TRA-2 Secondary and install a 2nd shim....now the secondary will be able to run the correct belt width.

What is "tickover"

Setups are different regardless of snowmoble model per model or Drakarts as you run.
Clutching principles dont change, the parts work a certain way according to physical laws and these principles can be applied to your Drakart easily enough.