Snowmobile World banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
HI, I have just added three EGT probes to a Mach Z motor. What is the correct EGT's
and at what EGT's will it give the most power?. So far they are up to 1350F ?

Thanks for the help

Glenn

·
Registered
4,316 Posts
1350 seems like you have already burned down your engine. I thought that 1250F was the danger zone. Are you sure you have the probes in the right spot? How is your wash? plugs?

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hi thanks for the comment,   No I haven't burned down the piston ... yet when I saw the high temp I backed off quick ( I did a compression test and all still 127 PSI.  The probes are about  6 inches from the piston.  The plugs lookm OK to me But then that is why I put in EGT's because I have no experience in reading plugs !!. I am using synthetic oil and the "pump gas" here is 96 Octane so they burn pretty cleanly which doesn't help reading ?.

Thanks  Glenn

·
Registered
361 Posts
GlennM, those temps. are a little high, with your compression, and if your motor is stock. You should also put your probes about 8"-9" from piston face or 6" from cyl. flange for most accurate temp. reading (hottest). I've also had difficulties reading plugs unless they are at the extremes (black/rich&oily or white/lean). I do however like reading piston wash with a cyl. light (see attached pic. of my piston wash which is safe and I had egt. temps. of 1250-1270 F for that wash, with probes at 8" from piston). The more clean piston you see and the less carbon you see, means you are running richer, the more carbon (black) and less clean piston (shiny metal), the leaner it is running. Also, wash has to be measured with a long wide open stretch (at least 1200'- 2000&#39
then shut down and stop quickly to measure wash.
Hope this helps!

·
Registered
2,885 Posts