Snowmobile World banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all,

I'm pretty new to the sport, bought a little Polaris 488 fan last winter, and have rented in the past.

Night or Day riding, which do you like more?

In my, rather novice, opinion if you want to rip it up a little, night time is nice because you can see the lights of other sleds way up the trail, and pull back before you get to them.

Daytime I ride much more conservatively due to the fact that so many corners are blind and you have no clue if someone is coming from the other direction.

In either case I ride in my limits on public trails and only really push the envelope on private land.

What do you think?

·
Registered
530 Posts
Riding at night has its perks. It's very fun and I love seeing the lights across a lake that I'm riding on. But then again, there are many cons, can't see as far, or anything like that. Riding in the day is fun too. One of the most obvious reasons is you can see everything around you a lot better. And can do more sight seeing.

·
Registered
3,183 Posts
My night vision has gone wayward the last,oh, maybe 5 years. I don't even enjoy driving a car at night anymore.

·
Registered
2,560 Posts
I'm a night guy on familiar trails. A lot of times I feel like I'm driving in a tunnel. Only one comment, ripping it up or not. I don't overdrive my headlights. I've seen too many people parked in the middle of a trail on the far side of a curve...with no lights on.

AL

·
Registered
692 Posts
stoped on the side w/ no lights on NO NO

in our group if your last and we stop for a apple juice and we hear or see a sled either way the front guy starts up or the back guy starts up............ and if they dont someone usually runs over and starts it for them

·
Registered
546 Posts
I too like the night ride but like michahicks said i to have seen idiots stop and park right on the trail at night.