Snowmobile World banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
156 Posts
I do all my own work on my sleds from motor to clutch to suspension. From what I have seen most people bring their sleds in to get them worked on.

·
Registered
720 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks Riley, I could see how most people in general would use a shop.

I should have been more clear, I was referring to sw.com members and not most snowmobilers

·
Registered
3,008 Posts
I'm in the automotive repair business so its a no brainer that my sleds repaired right here.
:D

·
Registered
1,960 Posts
I pretty much do all my own. Unless its something that is major that could be cover under warrenty. Like a Crank or something. I rebuild my own shocks. Go through the clutch etc. Its fun to do also. That way it makes it quicker to repair something on the trail too, if you already know how it comes apart.

·
Registered
756 Posts
I make my living in the winter repairing snowmobiles, so yes I do all my own repairs. Everything from complete engine rebuilds to, customs, shocks, dyno tuning(engine) might have to hire help sometime.

·
Registered
2,560 Posts
Like motorcycling, snowmobile repair/maintenance is part of the experience for me...

AL

·
Registered
1,357 Posts
I do pretty much all of my own work other than shock rebuilds and i'm thinking about getting the stuff to do that to. About the only thing I bring it in for was warrenty work when it was still covered. I grew up on a farm and we did all our own work so I just kinda grew up with it and enjoy it.

·
Registered
1,736 Posts
I would want to think that most everybody works on their own sleds. Riders should. It may mean the difference between going home and continuing on with the rest. I do what I can, and what I can't, I'll play it with untill I figure out how I can. Believe me, there is ALOT of the latter at current. :(

·
Registered
2,646 Posts