Snowmobile World banner
1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been watching alot of the video's posted here and notice alot of you guys use the MX helmet with the goggles.
Why did you choose the mx helmet over a full face helmet?

·
Registered
1,291 Posts
I wear an HJC motoX helmet, NoFog w/headband, and Scott goggles. I've been riding like this for 5 years.

My primary reason for this setup is absolutely no vision/fogging issues. I found with my old full-face that fogging was sometimes an issue .but admittedly, I didn't have an electric visor at the time.

Another excellent and warm (!) setup is with the NoFog and a full-face helmet. No fogging problems with it either.

·
Registered
117 Posts
i think the primary reason is when you breathe into your a full faced your breathe gets up on the visor and freezes, with goggles you dont get that problem

·
Registered
1,291 Posts
Yeah. A good, effective breath deflector is important. Look at the BRP BV2S helmets for example.

·
Registered
593 Posts
I did it also for vision, but on the really cold days I will sometimes throw on a full face just for the comfort. I find with the full face helmets half the time I am leaving the visor open a crack anyways to stay cool and keep the visor fog free unless its a really cool day.

·
Registered
4,659 Posts
When powder busting the last thing you want to wear is a smother bucket..>>full face.. The Modular and the BVS2 are the worst offenders. My Pro-vue's with the auto tint have never fogged yet. I wear one of those high tech windproof Balaclava's >>Unwind I think the name is. this combined with my SD Sno-x helmet has served me well so far.

Permafrost

·
Registered
465 Posts