Snowmobile World banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
316 Posts
go with the yellow etrax. they are 200 in stores and you can pick one up on ebay for about 80 new. thats what i use and it is great for what we do.aint been lost yet!!!!! :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

·
Registered
900 Posts
Ive been running a Magelllan 315 for over a year now and it seems to hold up to just about anything..lots of good ones to choose from. Garmin make some nice ones too but they seem to be more aligned with staying on roads and not so much for backcountry usage but then again i havent had one in my hand enough to say for sure..Steve

·
Registered
539 Posts
I have been using a Garmin eMap for three years and would not think of going out without it. Check out the GPS systems at www.garmin.com look at all the specs and find out what you want and need...BEST WAY and whatever you get it pays to have one. It will take a little study to use it..

·
Registered
308 Posts
I have used both Magellan and Garmin. They do work in the cold. I carry one with me at all times along with a handheld VHF, a compass, and a small revolver. You can get by with the low cost models (like the eTrex) which are around $120. I have the Garmin Venture which has more built in memory and is WAAS enabled which gives it more precision. It cost me around $170 and is everything I need and is the best bargain for the features it has in my book. Depending on where you ride an altimeter may be useful and can be gotten as a feature for more dollars.

We ride a lot of untracked wilderness which is not accessed from parking lots - our machines are THE sole means of transportation, so GPS can come in very handy. As with any electronic device they should not be relied upon as the only means of way finding so keep that in mind but, by all means go for it!

R

·
0 Posts