Snowmobile World banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I'm totally new to snowmobiling. My girlfriend and I are thinking of purchasing our first sled. We want something used for our first one to make sure we want it. I don't want to spend too much over $3000 if possible. I know I won't be able to get the best or the fastest, but from looking at the want ads I think I can get something decent. Most sleds in that price range are 97-98 models and are either 600's or 700's, and a few 800's. I'd prefer a 600 over a 700, not that I have any idea of the differences, but I'm pretty sure the 700 would be faster than the 600. I'm sure that's quite the newbie thing to say! Anyway, what exactly should I be looking for in terms of mileage, brands, modifications, etc. Any suggestions are really appreciated.

Also if anyone wants to clue me in on what extras I should be looking at, helmets, jackets, etc. that would be great. Thanks alot.

·
Registered
384 Posts
Look for a sled thats been well taken care of,as well as low miles.....thats more important than brand..look around they are out there.i just bought a 98 zr with 1050 miles on it for 2500....as far as acc.HELMETS!!!and cold weather clothes..boots are very important.hope this helps.

·
Registered
3,520 Posts
where do you live ?

What type of ridding will you be doing ? groomed trails, deep snow, just spin around the house ?

How much do you and your wife weigh together ? My neighbors weigh over 500 pound together and there little v-max 600 has a hard time....

Look for something you can get fixed near your place, buying a brand that the closest dealer is 2 hrs drive isnt much fun.

A nice touring sled is the best if you plan on ridding with the wife.

·
Registered
959 Posts