Snowmobile World banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to high elevation powder that I will hopefully get to enjoy in CO. My career will probably have me somewhere else soon. Short and sweet I need something that plays in deep powder and run sometrails in the tight woods of the north east. Maybe someday I will be able to have two sleds, but for now I need to compromise.
Priority
1 CO Rockies
2 North East
3 Midwest
4 Alaska?

I am considering the SD MXZ Renegade 600 and 1200, and the Polaris RMK Shift 600 and 800 144" and 155". I am open Arctic Cats as well.

·
Premium Member
536 Posts
It really depends on how much time you plan to spend off-trail and how much time on-trail.

The cross-overs (Renegade, Switchback and Crossfire) do well off-trail but start having problems getting into the 'steep and deep'. I have had my 08 Renegade 600 (1.25" ripsaw track) in about 2 1/2 - 3 ft powder in the midwest (flat lake) and couldn't get it stuck. Start adding a hill with that kind of powder and I start having problems. I could go to a bigger lug track and it will be better but eventually you get to a point where you need a longer track to make it up that hill. Really depends on how and where you plan to ride. A good rider on a crossover can keep up with so-so riders on mountain sleds. If you are riding with a batch of really good riders on mountain sleds expect there will be some places you just won't make it.