1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Master Embalmer
1,232 Posts
Discussion Starter #1

·
Registered
2,560 Posts
My opinion, I would say no, 2000 mile top end jobs are not normal. Something in the 3500 - 5000 mile range more common among guys wanting to keep them in top shape. They'll generally go much longer than even that.

2000 miles likely the result of an incident of one kind or another.....

·
Registered
670 Posts
I brother in law had to replace his 440 in a 97 after only 1300 miles.

By the way he ran it without any oil and couldnt figure out why the light was on his dash :lookaround: It was fun towing him back home...

Serously it is not normal but I do see it a lot also.

·
Registered
361 Posts
not that im an expert on this by any means but i feel that if you take care of your sled and give it the proper maintenance like anything else it will last well beyond 2,000 miles...

·
oldslowsledder
6,491 Posts
Quite often someone advertising a rebuilt engine is stretching things a bit as well.

·
Registered
11,658 Posts
Quite often someone advertising a rebuilt engine is stretching things a bit as well.[/b]
when the real story is new plugs. :lookaround:

·
Registered
3,817 Posts
If it's a late model Doo with a Series III engine...it's needed.

·
10,054 Posts
you also have some guys out there that simply tear down their motor every summer,,, for not other reason other than to see what is going on in there. Its much better to catch something in the garage in the middle of June than to catch it 50 mile down the trail in the middle of January.

·
Registered
644 Posts
If any engine I bought new failed in 2000 miles, I would be some dealer's headache, or they would have simply done the necessary thing. Any two-stroke motor worth its salt will go far longer than 2000 miles - and I don't care if the engine was made 20 years ago. Some motors tolerate abusive conditions better than others. However, few are really designed to be used that way.

·
Registered
112 Posts