Snowmobile World banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, I'm new to the snow mobile engine world. I've been toying around with single cylinder two-strokes for years. But I'm not familiar with the twins at all. I live in So. Cal. And snow is not that common. I bought this 85 ski-doo formula plus type 537 engine on line. This power plant is to be installed into an odyssey and I need to know the best light to mid performance mods to be done to the motor. The motor came with the stock 2 into 1 pipe; pair of 38mm round slide carburetors, all electronics- gauges wiring harness, etc… it also came with the stock driven clutch and a comet 102c drive unit. The bore is a standard bore and pistons/ heads are in good shape (no pitting, carbon build up, etc.) Any help would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
417 Posts
Depends how far you want to go. Pump gas? Twin pipes? Stock these motors are around 95 hp. Full mods can get up to 140. If it's an 85 it should have 40's on it.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I thought they looked larger than 38's. i would like to run 91 octane pump gas, twin pipes if i can fit them into the cage. my goal is to have a somewhat competetive racer but still keep the reliability. so way out porting isnt neccesary. my biggest thing is that i am not that familiar with the rotax engine and i am seeking advice before the work happens. All engines are costly when you screw them up. any and all information is helpfull. thanks

·
Registered
417 Posts