Snowmobile World banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys I really need some help on my 98 mach z lt! last year I was running it stock with a 2x136 track it ran good but for where I ride I felt I needed more traction so I put a 2x151 and a set of JAWS PIPES on it and it runs awsome execpt for the top end. I have a purple, purple spring in the primary which is 160- 320 spring tension and I just rebuilt my secondary and put a new spring in it as well (beige spring) So all that is not stock is the primary spring, the pipes and the track I also dropped 1 tooth in my top gear. Now whats happening is that I pin it across the field and out of the hole it flys all the way to 70 M.P.H. at 8800 rpm then it starts to fall fairly fast right down to 8400rpm for the duration of the run. I have a straight 47 degree helix, what I'm thinking is to change that out for a double stage say a 48-44 what do you guys think??

·
Registered
852 Posts
I dont have any experience with anything even close to a 2'' track but if your going through 4' of powder (as an example) that would seem to be similar to watercross, and those guys actually doo run real shallow helix`s maybe down to that 44 or 40 angle. Now, if your running that track in alot firmer stuff, I would first dial your preload up(if you find yourself going over  say 24 lbs stop) or maybe consider a spring more like a 230/380. You are running 286 ramps, I presume? ...... damn 2' track......are  you where they get snow?
?? My .75 is overkill right now...

·
Registered
2,422 Posts
Just to let you know, your sled is designed to run @8300 rpm"s. 8800 is way out of your power band unless the jaws pipes were built to run it up there. Generaly you want your tach to pin say 8300 and hold it there all the way to the top but doo"s will slowly climb past that buy 2-300. If there is a cure for this I would like to here it.