Snowmobile World banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
1,960 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, I'm relatively new to the snowmobile carbs. I have done a lot of messing around with jet ski carbs but not sleds. This is my question. When and if I jet down my sled from the stock 430's. I have been told by others that 410 is safe. Do I have to adjust/change anything else. Or just swap jets and it should be fine? I would think since these are the mains and that mostly affects top end, that you should not have to adjust anything else. But like I said, I am new to these carbs.
I have a 02 ZR800. Any input is greatly apppreciated. Also if for somereason somebody out there does not think this is a safe jetting, please let me know. I have been told that this should be safe till about 10 below zero F. But to keep an eye on it if it were any lower.

·
Registered
310 Posts
as far as i know,  all you do is take the old jets out, and put the new ones in.  simple as that.  if i can do that then most everyone on this forum can do it.

·
Registered
3,008 Posts
I posted this a little while back, I ran my 02 ZR-800 with 410's all of last season (2300 or so miles). I checked plugs and wash a couple of times with it showing well on the safe side. I know of others running 400's but as I stated before since the 800 is not fussy about jetting why chance running it on the edge. I rode lots of mornings in NewLiskeard at -25 or colder.  Rick.

·
Registered
1,960 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks for the replys. I'm glad to hear that its not a fussy engine. I guess I'll just swap them and give it a shot without adjusting anything else. Then if there is an issue, I'll put it back. Hopefully we get some snow down by my house this year so I can mess around at home and not have to do it on a trip. Thanks again guys.

·
Registered
1,960 Posts
Discussion Starter #8