Snowmobile World banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
1. please take a look at enclosed pictures of the air screw from my 1980 Enticer 340. I need advise if the air screw should be replace?

2. Also I took a close up of a marking under the air screw (9,8,3...see picture). Is that a setting for Turns Out? or there is other meaning?

3. While the carb is already taken out form engine, should I do other inspections as well? please advise!!!! Is it recommend to buy a carb kit to overhaul the carb? thanks.

This is my first time to dismantle a crab.........I want to learn from you guys....rerally appreciate your input.

Thanks

Harry

P.S. the result I took the carb out is because I have problem to pull start the engine. After readjust the air screw to 1 turn out, the engine can start but not everytime thought. I mentioned from previous post that I need to press hold the throttle and pull several time to restart the engine which I think is not appropriate in normal situation? I don't know.

·
Registered
2,782 Posts
Harry,

Just clean up the end of the mixture screw with some steel wool or an SOS pad. Someone obviously cranked it in too tight and scored it. The stampings on the carb bottom are reference numbers. I believe you should start with that screw 1 1/2 turns out after lightly seating it in the carb body. The other area for some attention is the pilot jet (small tube next to the main jet) Get a screw driver that fits that brass screw inside and remove it carefully. Take it and the hexagon shaped main jet out and let them soak in some lacquer thinner (carb cleaner) over night. If they don't come out spotless, observe the numbers stamped on each of them and replace them. Mikunis rarely need bowl gaskets unless they've been over tightened..you should be able to get by re using the old gaskets but don't soak them in anything. I've been known to put a disassembled carb in the dish washer to clean it out (don't tell my wife).