Snowmobile World banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to snowmobiling and wish to start by purchasing couple of used machines. (one for me and one for my wife) I have been told that no more than four or five years old would be advisable because the most significant improvements in comfort were introduced at that time. Can anyone elaborate on this and/or be more specific as to model years? We will probably buy two-ups if possible or 500-700 CC one-ups with reverse and electric start on at least one.

Thank you

·
Coming 2 a Trail near You
2,267 Posts
If you are new to the sport you dont need a 700cc sled. If you are buying two ups i would recommend either an older model Ski-doo Touring 500 Fan or a an arctic cat panther 440 fan. 95 or newer should put you somewhere in the $1800.00 and up range(a sled). Try to keep the miles under 2600 if possible and the cleaner the better. Your right on the comfort issue. If it doesnt have enough travel in the suspension you will pay for it at the end of the day. As far as one up sleds are concerned. I would recommend Arctic Cat Jag 440's and or Z-440's. I am pretty sure you can find Jag 440's with reverse and electric start... as for the Z's I am unsure. I would not recommend liquid cooled machines for your first sleds. unless you try to stay under the 550 range. They are alot of machine for a beginner. If you have any specific questions dont hesitate to post and Welcome to Snowmobile World

·
Registered
483 Posts