Snowmobile World banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
3,679 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Out for a quick ride today on Trout lake. It was kind of a sloppy day, but it was nice out on the lake. When we got to Turtle Lake narrows I started playing around having a good time hitting the water slowly and gunning it to wheelie away, then seeing how slow I good go without sinking it. (Got down to 29mph briefly, but could consistently go about 35)
We ran down Turtle lake and back, and I played a bit more on the way back.
By now we were getting a little damp from the drizzle, so we decide to head to the Portage to dry off. I figure we might as well head up through 4 mile bay so I can play on the water there too. THe narrows there are really shallow, so I figure I can afford to really play around. I pulled one really nice wheelie by putting feet right at the back of the running boards, and figure I'll try another and see how far I can carry it.

Here's where things go bad. Trying to jump off the ice I just spun out. There was no snow on the ice, and trying to leave from a dead stop 6 inches from teh edge of the ice, with the track spinning wildly, didn't give me enough of a launch to keep it going. I made it about 15 feet out and it started to go down.

Luckily the water is not deep, and standing on the seat I'm out of the water. I had to get wet to tie the rope onto the machine, but we got it out in about an hour. It's in my shop now, drying out. I couldn't believe the water that came out of the pipe. Blew me away.

I'll know tomorrow if all is good. Keeping my fingers crossed. I know that one thing I hate about these new sleds is all the crap you have to take off to get at anything. Just removing the airbox was an ordeal.

Pics are on their way. One of my buddies got lots of good shots, I just have to wait from him to e-mail me.

This was a wake up call for me though. Thank God I was with friends and in shallow water or this could've been nasty.

·
Premium Member