Snowmobile World banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
2,319 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well after almost 1000 kilometers on Cody's rebuilt 600HO, it appears he cold seized it.
It was only 1 cylinder. (stator side)
The other 1 is fine.

We ordered a new jug and I'm calling Bill in the morning for another piston, ring and pin.

Here's the pics.

Please let me know what you think.

Jeff

Attachments

·
Registered
281 Posts
kind of hard to see, but is the top of the piston pitted? might have been running lean if only one side was damaged. I'm no expert though.

·
Registered
2,782 Posts
Jeff, Can't you acid wash the piston remnants off that jug and reuse it ?. Looks like either ran hard cold or low oil distibution. Blow out that side supply line, observe the oil jet.To be on the safe side, replace the 2 check valves on the oil pump. Spin the pump shaft with a cordless drill and see what the volume is.

·
Registered
3,679 Posts
I don't think it's a cold seizure. Cold seizure results in a "4-corner" seizure, with seizure marks on either side of the ports, but not usually all across the front like that.

There's a piston failure guide somewhere on the net. I'll look for it and see if I can post a link.

·
Registered
1,177 Posts
From what I can see from the picture, it looks lean to me.

·
Registered
3,679 Posts
I don't know about reusing the jug. Nicasil cylinders are a bit funny. Harder to hone. For sure the jug can be reused, but it might need to get replated first.

Looking at those photos again I have to wonder if it's not damage from debris. I wouldn't put it back together without checking out the crank.

·
10,054 Posts
Do you have any chipping between the ports of the jug?? If you do, its probably best to have it renicked,,,, if not, a light new cross hatch and your set.