Snowmobile World banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey Dan, took my first big adventure with the 89 Ski Doo Mach 1 yesturday.  We went 220 miles and the last 60 miles or so was hell.  I had the largest engine out of the group but I couldnt keep up for anything.  The suspension killed me.  Today I can't move.  So whats the key to making this machine work?  I am 175lbs, the previous owner was larger so the springs are set on the stiffest setting.  I am not experienced in re building shocks but can buy new ones if necessary.  Or do you know of a complete suspension upgrade I can make for it.  Anything,  I am just worried I won't be able to ride with my frineds this season.  I guess at the least I will be upgrading the sled this summer!!!  Thanks for your help.

·
Registered
918 Posts
You definately need to set the springs softer, that will help. After that I dont know if theres much you can do to help the ride. If I were you and thinking of a new suspension Id look at a whole new sled first.
                 Ryan

·
Registered
124 Posts
try setting the springs somewhere in the middle and go from there. you just have to experement to get them right.
220 miles is a long ride too- that may be part of the reason you are hurting.

you also have to remember that you have a 13 year old sled, its not gona preform like the new ones.  i wouldnt put any money into it as far as buying a new suspention goes, they're pretty expensive.

- Jason

·
Registered
3,520 Posts
like Mr siv said 220 is a long ride on that heavy slead. what type of trails where you ridding ? groomed or home made trails?  when things get bumpy and twisty that sled gets you right in the arms and back. the middle is a good start of point and if its realy hard on your arms check ski allingment. i dont have mine anymore but i still like switching with my buddy's 89 mach. Good luck

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #5