Snowmobile World banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I just purchased a 91 Wildcat 700 and have never really played around with these sleds (I am a mechanic unfortunately these don't have diesel engines) :p
I previously owned a 77 Pantera 5000 and a 3500 Citation but never performed any major work.

Anyways, I have a couple of questions. I replaced all the boogie wheel bearings and rear spring slide brackets today and when reinstalling the suspension I noticed that the front bolts that hold in the suspension have two possible locations for them. They were originally on the upper holes and I was curious if I could put them on the lower holes to possibly raise the suspension height? Is this safe to do and will it raise it at all? I have the rear spring adjusted to the max height but feel it still sits a tad low (Suspecting the springs are worn out). About how much track play should I have when pressing down on the track?

Also I haven't done anything to the engine, it runs good, no hesitation or missing but noticed oil around one of the pipes where it enters the muffler. I replaced the springs as they were weak, but still a very small amount of oil is evident. Is this ok? Both pipes feel the same temperature to me when it is running. I think i'm going to do a cylinder compression test tomorrow, whats a good pressure?

Any help would be great!

Thanks. :)

·
Registered
108 Posts
Hey, welcome to the club.

I'm in the exact same position as you. I too just bought a 91 or 92 Wildcat 700 (Can't find the S/N!). I'm not sure about your suspension question, but I did perform a compression test on my machine again yesterday. The first time I only got about 105, I suspected it was the tester, so I borrowed a couple testers and tried again. 130 on both. The important part is that both cyl are the same or very close. It should be between 110-150.