Snowmobile World banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, I got the rear suspension out OK by turning the machine on its side. I replaced some idler wheels and the slides. Things were going well, but I have hit a wall. I tried to reinstall the rear suspension and it's not going too well...turned it on its side, installed one of the front bolts, turned it on the other side, installed the other bolt, and now I can't seem to get the rear axel lined up. I even tried loosening the spring tension. Should I tighten the spring tension? I'm still new to this, and wondering if there is there some kind of trick to getting the rear axel to line up? Right now it's about an inch and a half off and too far to the rear of the machine. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

Mark.

·
Registered
38 Posts
Well, I got the rear suspension out OK by turning the machine on its side. I replaced some idler wheels and the slides. Things were going well, but I have hit a wall. I tried to reinstall the rear suspension and it's not going too well...turned it on its side, installed one of the front bolts, turned it on the other side, installed the other bolt, and now I can't seem to get the rear axel lined up. I even tried loosening the spring tension. Should I tighten the spring tension? I'm still new to this, and wondering if there is there some kind of trick to getting the rear axel to line up? Right now it's about an inch and a half off and too far to the rear of the machine. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

Mark.[/b]
There are several methods that work. My method is to connect a come-along to an appropriate
point on the suspension and the innermost part of the front suspension, snug it up, then work the arm of the come-along to move the suspension to line up with the holes, one side at a time.