Snowmobile World banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
3,413 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
On my last trip the right handwarmer on my 05 Gade quit working. The left one and the thumb warmer both work great. Could someone give me a breakdown on how the wiring works, I tried to test the resistance but for some reason I get nothing on the good and the bad one?? The other thing that confuses me is that there are two main groups of wires heading into the left grips, I unplugged the harness that looks to control the heating elements but it still is working, the other looks to control the rev/e start.

I do have a manual and did test the wires listed in the manual at the harness plug, I believe it was black/orange and black, orange/purple for high. I have some knowledge of how to use a multimeter but may be doing something wrong as well.

I look forward to any info that someone might have.
Thanks J

·
Registered
2,782 Posts
Jason,

On the Rev series the majority of handwarmer failures happen to be on the right hand grip due to the continual movement of your hand to manipulate the throttle flipper. What happens is the entire grip rotates a little backwards and forwards severing the wires where they exit the grip and enter the throttle block. Sometimes they short together there before breaking. Just look for cracks or a deformed insulator right at the intersection of the grip and throttle block.

·
Registered
3,413 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Jason,

On the Rev series the majority of handwarmer failures happen to be on the right hand grip due to the continual movement of your hand to manipulate the throttle flipper. What happens is the entire grip rotates a little backwards and forwards severing the wires where they exit the grip and enter the throttle block. Sometimes they short together there before breaking. Just look for cracks or a deformed insulator right at the intersection of the grip and throttle block.[/b]
Thanks TD