Snowmobile World banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
140 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just bought a 2002 600 Classic Touring (Polaris). I'm new to snowmobiling, should i get my track studded? I have asked a few people and i have received different answers. Some say no and some say definatly get it done. I was just wondering if you men and women could give your opinions on this. I figured i could reach a wider range of people thanks to the internet.

Thanks for any information

·
journeyman sled/motorhead
4,440 Posts
I do stud mine.the reason being I see a lot of icy trails.if you will be encountering icy trails, I would recommend them.

A

·
0 Posts
</span><table border="0" align="center" width="95%" cellpadding="3" cellspacing="1"><tr><td>Quote (zert800 @ Sep. 12, 2002, 3:51pm)</td></tr><tr><td id="QUOTE">From the safety aspect I would, it definetly increases your stopping ability.[/b][/quote]
I agree, you need the ability to stop quickly, doesn't matter if you're going fast or slow.  It is just smart sledding.

·
Registered
2,646 Posts
You could go with 48 studs for extra stopping, but with a 600 you may want to opt for 96 studs.
Caleb

·
1,327 Posts
I think Sled Dogg is right,

96 should be the minimum, all in the center belt.

For a 600cc sled all stud manufacturers recommend
"AT LEAST" 96 studs.

You can spend the extra on studs now, or on a new track when they start pulling through.

Welcome to the site.

DP

·
Registered
282 Posts
It all depends on the riding conditoins you have most of the time. For the areas I ride in, I would say that they are almost a must if you want to be safe and have alot more fun.

·
Registered
354 Posts
Dooski, I have the same sled with original track that the first owner put 196 inside and out. Thinking of going to a 1.25 with 144 in the middle. Are you using the stock track and what pattern are you going to use? JQ

·
Registered
374 Posts
I agree studding makes for quick stopping but gives your sled a diffrent ride.