Snowmobile World banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I'm new to sledding, and am looking to buy a mid to late '90s touring machine. I've been eyeing the Ski-Doo Touring SLE's and Grand Tourings, but haven't given much thought towards the various touring sleds from Arctic Cat and Polaris. I guess I was assuming since the snowmobile was invented by Ski-Doo, it would be the most reliable machine (I am not mechanically inclined).

I'm guessing most experienced sledders are brand loyal, and I'm expecting some biased responses, but I'm not bothered by that.

Please let me know your oppionions on the mechanical reliability of the mid to late 1990's Arctic Cat and Polaris touring sleds, compared to Ski-Doos.

Thanks.

·
Registered
361 Posts
the most important thing to remember about buying a sled that is over 10 years old is the condition, not necessarily the make. (if you have no brand loyalty) your going to find quite a mixed bag at that age range. dont rule out yamaha either.

·
Registered
177 Posts
ok... I am gunna talk about what little I know about touring machines...

Mid to late 90's in a touring machine, it is my honest opinion that Ski-doo Made the better sled... their fit and finish is great and they had great power and options. Just be careful because their bigger engine ones were very VERY finicky. their "DPM" system (i believe that is what is called no?) with all the air line hoses everywhere were very sketchy. Great Idea, however if you crimp even ONE of those lines it will starve the motor of SOMETHING and will blow up on ya... these were mainly on the triples... If you are going to go with a ski-doo I know that the 670 and the 583 were both very strong and solid motors... STAY AWAY from the 617 and the 780.