Snowmobile World banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been snowmobiling in the Baffin Island area of Canada for 15 years and have always been able to fix my own machines but now I stumped. I can't get my 2001 340 Touring to start. I've tried all the regular stuff. Cleaned the pump and lines ( engine is getting lots of fuel ) new plugs ( several times ) I could not see any spark at the plugs so I put a new ignition unit on it but no difference. It tries to go but no way. I believe it is an electrical problem but don't really know where to look next.

Any suggestions ?????

·
Registered
1,394 Posts
Do you have a tether if so make sure that it is tight . Also do your lights try to come on as your starting it? PS Welome to the SW sight.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Do you have a tether if so make sure that it is tight . Also do your lights try to come on as your starting it? PS Welome to the SW sight.[/b]

Thanks for the welcome. I just wish it was under better circumstances.

1) - if a tether is what I think it is no I do not have one.

2) - yes the lights try to come on. They seemed dim but I tried my other machine ( it runs ) and they seem the same. But when I check the plugs while pulling the starter there does not seem to be any spark ( new CDI unit )

3) - this problem started as I was driving along. It started losing power and just quit. Never to start again.

·
Registered
1,394 Posts
Have you checked wires to the key? And is it maybe flooded? Try to take one plug out hit the kill switch pull it over 3 or 4 times see if gas comes out, if so do the same to other plug put in dry plugs then try let me know.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Have you checked wires to the key? And is it maybe flooded? Try to take one plug out hit the kill switch pull it over 3 or 4 times see if gas comes out, if so do the same to other plug put in dry plugs then try let me know.[/b]