Snowmobile World banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
:cussing: I have a 96 600XCR single pipe (XLT) engine. This sled is a blast to ride once it is started. The sled has 2700 miles Fox shocks SLP Skis and 136X1.75 track. I live in Idaho and ride at between 6000 and 8000 feet most the time. This sled can be the most stuborn thing on earth to start. Some trips have involved over 40 minutes just to get it started. Once it is running it runs great we checked out the choke and simple stuff. I am fairly new to this sport, just bought our first sleds last winter. when you do start it you have to hold the throtle partway open if it doesn't start within the first 4 pulls. Problem is worse if temp is under 20. Took two hours to start it in yellowstone last winter when it was -27. Had to drain the cyclinders twice ( another guy had to help show me how to do this. In the sleds defense most everyone even the new sleds took more than 20 pulls to start that morning. The guy who helped us said something about the center carb gets out of sync on these sleds (96 XCR's) I don't have a lot to spend this year have to buy another sled (my wife totaled one of our sleds) I am going to buy at least a 700 and hopefully newer than 98. Any one who has had one of these sleds and knows how to fix this please help.

·
Registered
660 Posts
Sounds like a problem with the started circuit (Pilot stage)

3 questions:

1. At closed throttle starting with chokes on, are the plugs WET or DRY after several pulls
2. Is compression OK
3. Is spark strong

these piston port triple should start in 1 or 2 pulls ALL THE TIME!

If spark is OK, and Compression is OK, then its a fuel delevery problem.

If your plugs are DRY after several closed throttle pulls with the choke on, you have some of the following things to check

- Pilot jets way be partially/fully obstructed
- Choke plunger is not lifting
- Choke circuit is partially obstructed