Snowmobile World banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
103 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I put this topic in the Doo section, but no one has ever had this happen.  The other day I was re-filling my chain case with Ski-Doo synthetic oil and at the bottom of the bottle, the oil started to come out gel-like and clumpy.  This was a brand new bottle and had been sitting in my garage for a month.  This is my first time using synthetic, so I don't know what to expect it to look like.  Should I drain it and try another?
Thanks!!
Anyone heading to the UP (Curtis area) next week?

·
Registered
8,771 Posts
My brother has used the 'doo Synthetic Chain Oil, I'll ask him if he has had problems.

·
Registered
2,885 Posts
Oviously it is the base of the lubricant that is settling. If it was on the shelf long enough it might happen.

I have used ATF TypeIII for the last few years and like using it. If it can take 500ft. lbs. in a chain transfer case in a Diesel pcikup it should be good enough for a sled right?

·
Registered
2,422 Posts
Sounds like it should work mxz but there is only 10-12 ounces in there and most of it is suspended in the chain and gears at say 40mph. The 90 weight stuff has some stick to it and a higher shock load. I would stick with the 90 weight.
The settling is just some base, see it all the time, just give it a good shaking.

·
Registered
8,771 Posts
</span><table border="0" align="center" width="95%" cellpadding="3" cellspacing="1"><tr><td>Quote (800MXZ @ July 13, 2002, 1:43pm)</td></tr><tr><td id="QUOTE">I have used ATF TypeIII for the last few years and like using it. If it can take 500ft. lbs. in a chain transfer case in a Diesel pcikup it should be good enough for a sled right?[/b][/quote]
Do you use syn' ATF? I was using conventional ATF in my sleds before I switched to the Klotz Synthetic Tranny Oil. Started using the Amsoil Chaincase oil this winter as it has a lower pour point than the Klotz.

·
Registered
2,885 Posts