Snowmobile World banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
886 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm fairly new to snowmobiling and commonly see mention of gearing choices.  I'm planning on having clutch work done on my 00 TCat before next season (only revs to 7800) but I'm hoping you guys can give me a quick education on gearing and what you've found works best.  I'm very familiar with automotive gearing but not with sleds. Thanks

·
Registered
203 Posts
First what are you running in your clutches?
Whats your elevation?
7800 seems awfully low, but that depends. I run 8500 on mine.
Call a local dealer and see first what you should be running for your area.
I currently run 20-39 gears but thats because mine is set-up for the mountains not the lake.I have dabbled with 21-39 and didn't like them for my taste. There good for trail and lake running.

·
Registered
886 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
That's a good question, the clutch is 100% stock.  I'm not sure of the exact elevation for the majority of Michigan but I think's it's somewhere around 1200 feet.  This is what I'm unclear on, is the gearing part of the clutch setup?  I thought clutch kits were mainly different spring combos.  I've searched around but can't find info on clutching 101 and don't yet understand the finer points.

·
Registered
203 Posts
atyska your right clutch kits are mainly springs, weights, helixes but gearing goes hand in hand with the clutching. It sounds like you need more rpms. That usually calls for heavier weights. But we have to know what you currently run in your clutches before we can get much further.

·
Registered
1,301 Posts