Snowmobile World banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
310 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
when i add mods to my sled, how much tuning will it take to get it optimum.  i want to get all the mods in this summer, and be riding top notch this winter.  is that do-able??  if not how long will it take to tune a:  heel clicker clutch kit, pipes, silencer, reeds, and a new head??  and im no sled expert, so i cant even put a clutch kit, pipes, reeds, or a new head on, so how am i going to tune them??

·
Registered
213 Posts
my opinion,if your adding higher comp heads and pipes,you better be buying egt,s...... or   know how to read piston wash and plugs .

·
Registered
310 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
what is EGT??  im getting dial-a-jet.  but what is EGT, is that like a temp and stuff guage for the pipes??  and heads.

·
Registered
2,646 Posts
Sledcrazy,
   Your crazy to spend all that money on mods if you don'ty even know how to tune a sled in the slightest bit. You need to get a clutch tuning book and the heelcicker set-up first. A properly dialed clutch will REALLY wake your sled up. I'd bet money that you'll blow your motor if you do all this. Especiallya head mod as jetting is darn critical.  Start out small and build up to it. We want you to have the best sledding season and it won't be if you blow a motor!
Caleb

·
Registered
310 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
thnx sled dogg, so what do you recommend i get??  clutch kit, pipes, and a silencer??  forget the heads.

·
Registered
2,646 Posts
Sledcrazy,