Snowmobile World banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
2,885 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I want to ask what you guys have been using. I have been tweeking for 2 years on mine, want to know what everyone else is using for clutching, etc.. with success.

·
Registered
272 Posts
I have been working on mine as well, and it is better than stock, I believe, but still didn't get the testing time I wanted.  Lakes never froze up again when we finally got snow, so my testing was done on weekend trips up north, when everyone wanted to ride vs. wrench.  Anyway, I made the mistake at the beginning of the season and changed too many things at once, and when I was slower than stock 800's, I didn't know where the problem was.  I am now running thundershift arms, and Cudney springs and helix, but am wanting a bit more time with different helix and maybe back to the stock white secondary.  Also, GLH if you read this, I am trying to figure out if you were referring to flipping the arms over so the bolts are on top.  I also have gone back and forth with the 26 and 27 gear, and am currently with the 27.  I had boyesen reeds, which I took out and am back to stock.  Backed out my rave caps flush with the cover, 490 main jets, and MBRP trail silencer, which has already cracked at the weld on the bottom of the can.  If I uncouple my blocks, and rotate the stoppers up, I am getting 2-3 sled lengths over a stock 800, and 02 XC 700's that were giving me trouble before, but I still need to have the holeshot to hold them off.

Dave, I know you have been using heelclickers, and they take even more time to dial in.  What is the outcome?  Worth it?  Ever mess with titanium or magnesium arms and loading up the pin weight?  I have heard good things about these settups, along with a 160/290 primary spring.  I think I saw you were selling your dynoport single for a twin.  Are you porting as well?  RK Tek head?

·
Registered
100 Posts