Snowmobile World banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am getting back into the sport, I put the sled in the shed when my daughters where born and now, I am to the point where I am ready to go riding again, I have a 2000 xc700 delux, with less then 800 miles, I need some advice on gettting it ready to go to the mountains, I am on a budget, but since I am a machinist and have acess to alot of equimpment, I should have no problem with it,

I want to go from a 126,? to a 144" I am making the rail extenstions and tunnel extension, I would like to go with a 1.750 deeplug, I would like to keep the stock drive wheel, can anyone tell me if that will fit?

·
Premium Member
709 Posts
You got it exactly right. I'm not sure if you can go deeper than 1.75" on a stock setup, maybe maybe not, but it will take the 1.75" paddle for sure. I think 144" is the best length for almost all mountain/powder riding, and I wouldn't go any longer. 136" is actually very capable and allows much better maneuverability, but in the extreme conditions it can come up a little short. I run 151" tracks and 136" tracks on my sleds and I can tell you that I live in a hardcore mountain area and I rarely need the 151" length. It's nice as a just in case, but it is much *much* harder to steer and handle. Pro riders make it look easy, and once you get the hang of it it's a lot easier, but generally going with a really long track is just a waste of horsepower and creates a lot more work for the rider.