Snowmobile World banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
All, I am riding a zr700 in a zr440 chassis. Am curious as to others experience with the 700 twin and any issues it had re: longevity and reliability. It is modestly piped, with K&Ns and engine is stock. Am at present excited about the Holtzman VariFlow to control the jetting easily. Have a Digitron 32 with fresh t/cs installed. Went out on Monday past and was extremely frustrated with the jetting and have determined to figure this out. At 3300 ft and -20Cel had 350 jets in it so at about 5000 ft took them out and put in the 320 jets. This seemed to help but was still dead off the bottom. Temps agreed at about 800F around 1/4T and 980F 1/2T and after it cleared out ran a climb and temps went to 1200 WOT 8500 RPM. Can anyone comment on this situation? Am I doing okay or do I need to modify my strategy? I am new to the big sleds esp Cat and was never able to ride where now it is possible. Voltar in Alberta Canada where I ride we have 3ft of good snow and sounds like more a comin'. Bloody cold but thats okay...... it ain't meltin' Cheers. Voltar

·
Registered
18 Posts
Have you moved your needle clip position to lean out your midrange ? It sounds like that is possibly what needs to be done. Make sure you test any adjustments you make using the Digatron. Good luck !

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thank you both for the replies. I will try the needle clip next trip out. I also  just installed  a 35 pilot in the carbs and am installing the Holtzman MultiRange VariFlow to handle the elevation and temp. changes we can have.
The engine is a 1994 and know little else re: pipes and gearing. It has a 136" 1.5" track in the zr440 chassis with 9 tooth drivers. Need to check the gearing I guess. Will check as much of this as I can once the weather warms up. Is this engine considered a dog or time bomb? Thanks again, Voltar.

·
Registered
2 Posts